What is data science?

Yanir Seroussi

Data science has been a hot term in the past few years. Despite this fact (or perhaps because of it), it still seems like there isn’t a single unifying definition of data science. This post discusses my favourite definition.

Data Scientist (n.): Person who is better at statistics than any software engineer and better at software engineering than any statistician.

— Josh Wills (@josh_wills) May 3, 2012

One of my reasons for doing a PhD was wanting to do something more interesting than “vanilla” software engineering. When I was in the final stages of my PhD, I started going to meetups to see what’s changed in the world outside academia. Back then, I defined myself as a “software engineer with a research background”, which didn’t mean much to most people. My first post-PhD job ended up being a data scientist at a small startup. As soon as I changed my…

View original post 632 more words

About scottedwards2000

data guy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

